Counties consist of counties and county equivalents, such as the parishes of Louisiana, the boroughs and census areas of Alaska, the independent cities of Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia, and the District of Columbia. The estimates for Kalawao County, Hawaii and the small independent cities of Virginia--generally those with fewer than 100,000 residents--are combined with those for adjacent counties.

See also Geographic Areas.